Main Content

DEI Committee

The TCU DEI Committee was established in 2016 to build a campus community committed to growth in diversity and inclusion, central to the university’s mission to educate individuals to think and act as ethical leaders and responsible citizens in the global community. The DEI Committee first met in January 2017. The following working groups
were established in the spring semester:

Curriculum
Training
Fort Worth Community Outreach
Faculty and Staff Recruitment and Retention
Student Recruitment and Retention
Campus Culture

In October 2017, the DEI Committee presented recommendations to Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr., that were based on the committee’s careful study of current practices and assessment of immediate needs. Before that time, and since then, the voices of our students are the force behind our DEI efforts. Passionate student leaders share TCU’s vision for a more diverse and inclusive campus and are helping to shape new initiatives that will improve our campus culture.

DEI Committee Mission

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee work to ensure equitable access and inclusion of opportunities, benefits, and resources for all members of the Horned Frog family. The committee’s charge is to monitor all existing and future initiatives regarding diversity, equity, and inclusion on campus; actively participate in developing a vision for diversity, equity, and inclusion that represents the entire campus community; and make recommendations to the Chancellor based on this vision.

DEI Committee Members

Patricia Walters, Co-Chair
Professor of Professional Practice
Department of Accounting
p.walters1@tcu.edu

Jesús Castro-Balbi
Professor
School of Music
j.castro-balbi@tcu.edu

Miriam Ezzani
Assistant Professor
College of Education
m.d.ezzani@tcu.edu

Germán Gutiérrez
Professor
School of Music
g.gutierrez@tcu.edu

Hanan Hammad
Associate Professor
Department of History

Tracy Hicks
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice
Department of Nursing

Lynn Jackson
Associate Professor of Professional Practice
Department of Social Work

Ted Legatski
Professor of Professional Practice
Department of Entrepreneurship

Nelis Potgieter
Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics

Aisha Torrey-Sawyer, Co-Chair
Office of Diversity and Inclusion
a.torrey-sawyer@tcu.edu 

Todd Boling
Office of Religious & Spiritual Life
t.boling@tcu.edu 

Yvonne Lin Giovanis
Campus Recreation
y.giovanis@tcu.edu

Reggie Jennings
Coordinator
Student Development Services
reggie.jennings@tcu.edu

Trung Nguyen
Interim Assistant Vice-Chancellor for Student Affairs
trung.nguyen@tcu.edu

Danielle Bradford
d.l.bradford@tcu.edu

Ontario Brown
o.brown@tcu.edu

Mikea Jackson
mikea.k.jackson@tcu.edu

Whitnee Boyd
Coordinator of Special Projects

Kathy Cavins-Tull
Vice-Chancellor for Student Affairs

Yohna Chambers
Vice-Chancellor for Human Resources

Heath Einstein
Dean of Admission

Timeka Gordon
Director of Inclusiveness & Intercultural Services

Victoria Herrera
Associate Director Mary Wright Admission Center

Lisa McBride
TCU & UNTHSC School of Medicine

Merianne Roth
Associate VC Communications

John Singleton
Director of International Student Services

Shawn Worthen
Assistant Athletics Director Academic Services