Main Content

DEI Committee

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee works to ensure equitable access and inclusion of opportunities, benefits and resources for all members of the Horned Frog family. The committee’s charge is to monitor all existing and future initiatives regarding diversity, equity, and inclusion on campus; actively participate in developing a vision for diversity, equity, and inclusion that represents the entire campus community; and make recommendations to the Chancellor based on this vision.

TCU’s DEI committee comprises six working groups and guides the University’s efforts regarding diversity, equity, and inclusion. Each group is charged with gathering data identifying areas of improvement, and providing recommendations to support the university’s diversity strategic plan.

Working Groups

  • Recruitment and retention of students from under-represented communities
  • Recruitment and retention of faculty and staff of under-represented communities
  • Curriculum review
  • Campus Culture
  • Training for Faculty Staff and students
  • Engagement with the Community

DEI Committee Members

Karen Steele, Co-Chair
Department of English
k.steele@tcu.edu

Ariane Balizet
Department of English
a.balizet@tcu.edu

Emily Farris (fall 2018)
Department of Political Science
e.farris@tcu.edu

Sue Gong
Department of Engineering
c.gong@tcu.edu

Francyne Huckaby
College of Education
f.huckaby@tcu.edu 

Max Krochmal (spring 2019)
Department of History
m.krochmal@tcu.edu 

Jacque Lambiase
Department of Strategic Communication
j.lambiase@tcu.edu 

Janie Robinson
Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
Janie.r.robinson@tcu.edu 

Jay Ryu
Department of Interior Design
Jay.ryu.@tcu.edu 

Loren Spice
Department of Mathematics
l.spice@tcu.edu 

Aisha Torrey-Sawyer, Co-Chair
Office of Inclusion
a.sawyer@tcu.edu

Ashley Edwards
Center for Academic Services
Ashley.edwards@tcu.edu

Timeka Gordon
Inclusiveness & Intercultural Services
Timeka.gordon@tcu.edu

Victoria Herrera
Office of Admissions
v.herrera@tcu.edu

Nino Testa
Women and Gender Studies
n.testa@tcu.edu

Darron Turner (ex-offico)
Chief Inclusion Officer & Title IX Coordinator
d.turner@tcu.edu

Aminata Ka
Undergraduate Student

Shelby Johnson
Undergraduate Student

Lizdelia Pinon
Graduate Student

Whitnee Boyd
Coordinator of Special Projects

Kathy Cavins-Tull
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Yohna Chambers
Vice Chancellor for Human Resources

Tara Cunningham
TCU & UNTHSC School of Medicine

Heath Einstein
Dean of Admission

Shelley Hulme
Marketing and Communication

Lisa McBride
TCU & UNTHSC School of Medicine

John Singleton
Director of International Student Services

Shawn Worthen
Assistant Athletics Director Academic Services